Report Card Basics

Grades and marking codes for assessment in grades K-8 are set by the Union Elementary Associates. The codes are reflective of the developmental levels of the students, with marks differentiated for K, grades 1-2, and grades 3-8. Research-based evidence on effective grading and reporting practices guide the selection of the grades and marking codes.

Keep in mind the following points:

  • Grading scales and marking codes are different according to grade levels
  • K
  • 1st–2nd  (see video below)
  • 3rd–8th
  • 9th–12th
  • The A–F scale is only for grades 3–12
  • GPA is typically based on a 4.0 scale, but can accommodate a 5.0 scale.
  • Combination classes must follow the grading scale assigned to specific grades.
    • For example because 2nd and 3rd have different grading scales, they can not be combined as one class in a grade book.
  • Students with modified instruction are enrolled in regular grade classes with the appropriate instructional level indicated and modifications documented in the report card comment area. (See video below regarding Instructional Level.)
  • Kindergarten is assessed in skills. There are no grades issued for K students.
  • Academy Technology is larger than just computers and computer related activities. Here are the 5 areas of technology:
    1. Communication
    2. Manufacturing
    3. Construction
    4. Transportation
    5. Medical
  • Technology is the subject/department for any of these type of courses (computers would be a part of communication). Business courses that do not readily fall under a technology heading but relate more to economics would fall under Social Studies and, if they relate to accounting, would fall under Math.
  • See the list of available subjects/departments here.
  • See a list of sample classes/courses organized by subjects/departments here.

The official NAD report cards are available here.

Rationale for K–8 Grading Scales

Marking Codes for grades K–2 honor the developmental nature of learner progress at these grade levels. When traditional letter grades (A, B, C, D, F) are used, there is a tendency to compare a learner’s performance with other students. Alternate marking codes (I, P, NT or E, S, N) are often used with younger children when a system wants students to focus on learning, rather than getting a certain grade or comparing students to each other. Also, the alternate marking codes help parents get into the mindset of standards-based assessment rather than comparing learners to each other.

Philosophy for Language Arts Combined

Pathways: A Journey to Excellence Through Literacy has adopted a holistic, yet integrated, view of the language arts.  A holistic philosophy acknowledges that there are important parts to any whole, but it is the whole that is primary. Therefore, reading, writing, speaking & listening, and language development are reflected in one summative grade on the NAD elementary report cards. These skill areas align with the domains of the NAD Elementary Language Arts Standards. We are requesting that you honor this philosophy as you report language arts grades for your students.

Instructional Level for Math and Reading


User Roles // Official Report Card Data